The Necessary Evil

I’m not very up on current events so when I went to the grocery store today I thought I missed the news the world was coming to an end and we had been ordered to our bunkers with supplies to last for 6 years.  Mad House.  Then, I overheard someone talking about the “big storm”.   Ok, fine, whatever, that’s how it goes when people hear “snow”.

Everyone was super stressed.  Blindly throwing any food they could get their hands on in their overflowing carts.   There were concerned whisperings the store was running low on bread and rumors of “no milk left”  which caused a mild stampede but thankfully no injuries.   I too succumbed  to the Group Think.   And thus want to apologize to all the parents with one child I gave the stink-eye and a heavy sigh of disdain to as you pushed passed me with your one kid happily driving the “race car” cart.  (full disclosure – I also called you a jerk under my breath.)

See the store only has three of these carts and when I am forced to go shopping with a 1 year old, 3 year old and 4 year old this particular cart is the only way to keep three rascals contained and still have a place to put food.  I got a little irrational and blamed you for the fact I had to shop and round-up cats at the same time.  “I’m sorry”.

And you chicken-little’s who gave me dirty looks while I tried to shop with 3 little kids dragging me down, blame the cart hogs with one kid.  Believe me, I don’t want to be here anymore than you want to hear me say to my kids for the millionth time “Guys move over you are blocking the way”.

The financial moral of this story:  I was all flustered by not having “my” cart (yes I consider it mine) and went way over budget on the food expenses this week.  If you want to save money while grocery shopping DO NOT bring your children with you to shop before snowstorms.

Share This:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

